THINK

On Procrastination + Sue is Back

I would like to write you a long letter telling you what I have been up to but seriously I doubt if you would Read that long thing.
But Sue is back!
Here is a post from a dear friend. We are all guilty of it.
*******************************
No one likes to be reminded that they are getting older,except kids anticipating all the stuff they will be allowed to do when they reach a certain age. But hate it or love it,every single day brings us closer to the day you would want to sit down and take stock of what you have done with your life all these years.

I was looking through a diary I kept on one of my crushes. He is not just a crush,he is that guy I will always have a thing for. The thing is when I was reading through it as I flipped the pages I felt dread. Would the Me of 4 years ago be proud of the Me today or would she be disappointed? As I write this,I’m prepping myself nd tryna gather courage to call him. What if the decision I make now has a chain effect or maybe affects a future outcome? What if I wake up one year later and wish I had called him?
April 2011 – I wake up,sometime during the day I’ll call him
3 months later – I’ll call him today
1 year later – A call is too much,lemme start with a text
2 years later – I’ll chill for someone to bring him up then I’ll call him
3 years later – I still haven’t called him.

Looking at this trend alone,yu would think I’m not a serious person. Maybe I am,maybe I am not. But this morning as I remembered the diary I kept about the above person (that I still haven’t gotten in touch with) I realized.. I really did believe I would call him. Which brings to mind,how many things do we put off everyday?.

It could be changing the nail polish on your toed that’s almost gone (Ladies,we are all guilty) or it could be joining a gym to help you lose some weight or maybe it could be trying out your hobby as a business or going to visit that friend you have been promising that you would see “soon”.

All the same,we come up with many reasons not to do what we want to do or are supposed to do and most times we look for excuses not to go for what we want.

It could be we are plain lazy,too scared,not sure of how to go about it but the fact is,if you don’t go get what you want,who will get it for you??,your shadow?,your alter ego Sam?..lol..

One thing I’ve learned in my short number of years on planet earth is that What if’s never did anyone any good. Regrets are a product of opportunities that weren’t grabbed. Life is short and people die everyday and with them the hopes of achieving all those wonderful things they could have

So as someone who would rather be anything but an ordinary bitter old maid,I’m begging you to go out there and take your chances. At least you can say you tried.

As a new year begins,think of it as a clean slate. Forget the if only’s,the what if’s and start that diet. Join that gym. Tell that guy/girl how you feel. Stop that bad habit. Go for that audition. Defriend those bad friends. Dance like no one is watching. Be spontaneous.

Have fun. A new adventure called *insert your name* ‘s Life awaits you.

Annette Elektra Davies

8 thoughts on “On Procrastination + Sue is Back”

  1. “Dance like no one is watching” Thats one of my best lines ever, as we only have but a short time here.. Putting off things will only leave us with regret… this post is so Apt and i can relate… Nice one Sue. 🙂 Oosssshey! Elektra is a fantastic writer, hope we get to see more of her too 🙂

  2. ….”Dance like no one is watching” Thats one of my best lines ever, as we only have but a short time here.. Putting off things will only leave us with regret… this post is so Apt and i can relate… Nice one Sue. 🙂 Oosssshey! Elektra is a fantastic writer, hope we get to see more of her too 🙂

    1. I heard a spoken word poem yesterday by eric vaughn “breach” one of the lines says ” And lord if you see procrastination, kill him on sight like twice” thanks duru. Am sure she will write more.

    2. I heard a spoken word poem yesterday by eric vaughn “breach” one of the lines says ” And lord if you see procrastination, kill him on sight like twice” thanks duru for all your support. Elektra duru says write more!!!!

Leave a Reply

